West Hills Hospital/HCA Healthcare Awards of Distinction recipients announced

West Hills, CA – West Hills Hospital announced the recipients of the prestigious HCA Healthcare Awards of Distinction, the highest honors bestowed upon employees, physicians and volunteers. As part of HCA Healthcare, West Hills Hospital is proud to recognize the extraordinary work and dedication of our colleagues.

West Hills Hospital’s recipients of the HCA Healthcare Awards of Distinction are:

  • Aamer Jamali, MD: Frist Humanitarian Award (Physician)
  • Maya Atia, RN: Frist Humanitarian Award (Employee)
  • Jane Maltby: Frist Humanitarian Award (Volunteer)
  • Lukas Castillo and Ashlie Scott: Innovator Award
  • Navreet Shergill, RN: Excellence in Nursing, Professional Mentoring
  • Lolita De Guzman, RN: Excellence in Nursing, Compassionate Care
  • Francine Siegel: Employee of the Year
  • Lauren Dubois, RN: Employee of the Year

“We are driven by a single mission: Above all else, we are committed to the care and improvement of human life. This mission drives our dedication to delivering exceptional, patient-focused care and our commitment to recognizing the people who help us do this every day,” said Mark Miller, CEO at West Hills Hospital. “We are pleased to honor these recipients with the HCA Healthcare Awards of Distinction for their efforts in serving our patients and our community. Their exemplary work and compassion sets a high standard for healthcare professionals all over the nation."

These caring and talented individuals will be considered for HCA Healthcare’s division-level awards. The division-level winners are entered into the judging for the enterprise-level awards, which will be announced during a special ceremony at the HCA Healthcare headquarters in Nashville, Tennessee.

About the HCA Healthcare Awards of Distinction

Established in 1971, the Frist Humanitarian Award honors outstanding individuals for their humanitarian and volunteer activities. The awards are given annually in recognition of the caring spirit and philanthropic work of the late Dr. Thomas Frist, Sr., a founder of HCA Healthcare. The Frist Humanitarian Award recognizes one employee, one physician and one volunteer from each HCA Healthcare facility.

Our knowledgeable and compassionate nurses are at the front line of patient care every day. The Excellence in Nursing Award was created in 2014 to recognize the intrinsic value of the nursing practice in accomplishing our mission of providing the highest quality of care to the patients we serve. The award recognizes HCA Healthcare nurses who excel in the categories of compassionate care and professional mentoring.

Innovation comes in many forms and happens every day across our enterprise. The Innovators Award recognizes the pursuit of excellence in innovation through leadership, creativity and collaboration. This individual improves more lives in more ways by leading a culture of unique problem solving.